An American Editor

December 30, 2022

Guest article: Perspectives from an editor who is blind

Filed under: Editorial Matters,Guest Article,Professional Editors — An American Editor @ 11:21 am
Tags: , , ,

© Billy Horsburgh

© An American Editor. Content may not be recirculated, republished or otherwise used without both the prior permission of the publisher and full credit to the author of a given post and the An American Editor blog, including a live link to the post being referenced. Thank you for respecting our rights to and ownership of our work.

Who would have thought a blind person can edit. With the correct tools, knowledge, skills and experience — lot of things are possible.

I haven’t been blind from birth. I used to have perfect vision. Well, near-perfect, anyway. I wore glasses since I was five years old, and it wasn’t until I was in my late teens that I lost my eyesight due to glaucoma. But I did not lose my vision.

I was never a reader, or indeed a writer, until I lost my sight, although my favorite school subject was English and I was often distracted and wrote little stories during lessons when I was supposed to be doing something else. It was only when adaptive technology began to emerge during the late 1990s that I was able to consider reading and writing properly. I liked to write, but I didn’t like to read. However, in later life, I learned that you can’t write if you don’t read. And this is true.

Twenty-three years have passed since I lost my sight. I write regularly now. This would not have been possible without audiobooks and my screenreading software called supernova. Screenreading software has allowed me to write several books, graduate with two degrees and launch my own editing business.

The clients I edit for are more than satisfied with the quality, care and professionalism of my work. Due to my blindness, I must establish a close relationship with anyone I take on board by explaining about my situation. The Royal National Institute of Blind people (RNIB) suggests that it takes a blind person six times longer to carry out a basic task. This is no different when editing. I make sure my client knows this before accepting any editorial work. My clients understand that my turnaround may be a little longer than others but the professionalism will be the same. The price, however, will always be lower.

Because I can’t see the words on the page, I have to rely on my listening skills. Many people think that because you lose your sight, your hearing is heightened. This is not true! You just learn to use it better, and that I do. And I probably have to concentrate more when writing and editing. Once I’ve finished a piece, I read through my work by pushing a button on my keyboard, which allows me to continuously read what I have been working on. This makes me listen closely so I can pick up any additional errors.

I only launched my editing business in mid-July of 2022 and I’m gradually building a portfolio of clients. I haven’t developed a large client base as yet, but the ones I have secured do return to me.

I often find, when I do a readthrough of someone’s work, that I think, “This is well written. How am I supposed to edit this? However, when I re-visit with fresh eyes, as they say, I pick up on many areas that do need to be re-worked or revised.

Some of my clients don’t see what I see when suggesting edits. For example, when I recently edited for someone, I said, “This paragraph would be better moved here. And this sentence doesn’t flow. It may be better placed here, or not [used] at all.” When editing for another client, I noticed a very different picture: Her stories are about her but when I began to edit, I suggested she restructure her story so it focused on her from the outset, because otherwise, the audience wouldn’t know about her disabilities until many chapters later.

The author may overlook these simple changes.

These are just a couple of examples of how I edit for clients and they are happy with the way I work. They don’t mind if I take that little bit longer due to the nature of my disability. As long as they are getting the service they are looking for, both parties are satisfied.

Because I can’t see facial expressions, I pick up on [tone and meaning] when I edit for other people. I believe my writing and editing skills have improved over the years as I have had to learn to adapt to different methods. I can notice ambiguities and errors in continuity; if there are too many repetitions or too many adverbs; as well as basic spelling, grammar or errors of weak intensifiers.

A blind person can edit. And I am not the only blind editor. I know of another who has regular clients she edits for, and the outcome is the same for her. We have similar university degrees and are both creative writers, but I have a master’s degree in creative writing. Thanks to my two degrees, I have gained the appropriate and correct tools, knowledge, skills and experience to become the professional editor all my clients are happy with.

4 Comments »

  1. Technology has advanced to the highest degree for you. AI is perfecting a writing bot. I’m glad you have figured out what works for you to become an editor. More than likely you catch more than a sighted editor. Good for you. Persistence above all to get the education, and become tech savvy. 📚🎶 Christine

    Like

    Comment by C.E.Robinson — December 30, 2022 @ 12:29 pm | Reply

  2. This post just goes to prove that “voice” – physically and literally – is vital, and unique to each author. The sound of written work is important. I read my own stuff out loud to myself to catch clumsy phrases, tongue-twisters, and typos.

    A dear friend of mine who died three years ago was blind from birth. She was a professional transcriptionist in the medical field. I sent her my stuff to proofread (not medical – fiction and non-fiction, and minutes of meetings for a board we were both on). She was good. The two of us were deadly when we made jokes using words rarely encountered by the general public. (“Ossify” was one of our favorites.) I really miss her friendship.

    Like

    Comment by Brass Castle Arts — December 30, 2022 @ 3:14 pm | Reply

  3. This is surprising. I thought I would have to retire if I ever had a significant loss of vision. You’re awesome, Billy!

    Like

    Comment by Heather Pendley — December 30, 2022 @ 3:36 pm | Reply

  4. I’m sighted, but I also benefit from listening to the bot reading my prose. It slows my eyes down, picks up errors, and helps me “hear” my words better. Good essay. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

    Comment by laurakennelly2017 — December 30, 2022 @ 4:44 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.